United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

Press Advisory

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

Press Advisory


Release No: 108-08
October 20, 2008

DoD Honors Civilian Employees

            The Department of Defense (DoD) announced today seven recipients of the 53rd annual Distinguished Civilian Service Award (DCSA).
            The DCSA is the highest DoD honor a civil servant can earn and recognizes career employees at all levels for their exceptional contributions. The 2008 DCSA honorees are Stephen A. Fleet, Steven M. Huybrechts, Frank D. Kenlon, Claudia S. Knott, Barbara Estock Mays, John K. Russell, and Edmund G. Zelnio.
            The DoD also announced that Umit A. Spencer is the recipient of the 4th annual David O. Cooke Excellence in Public Administration Award. Intended to recognize a DoD employee who occupies a non-managerial position and exhibits potential as a future federal executive, Spencer received the award for her work at Eielson Air Force Base, Alaska.
            Secretary of Defense Robert M. Gates will present the awards Oct. 21, 2008, during a 1:30 p.m. EDT ceremony at the Pentagon auditorium. Journalists without a Pentagon building pass will be picked up at the River Parking Entrance only. Plan to arrive no later than 45 minutes prior to the event; have proof of affiliation and two forms of photo identification. Please call (703) 697-5131 for escort to the event. Media with questions may contact CDR Darryn James at (703) 693-8287.

Additional Links

Stay Connected