United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

DACOWITS Selects 1996 Executive Committee Members

American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, Dec. 28, 1995 – The incoming chair of the Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services announced selections to the 1996 DACOWITS executive committee. They assume their duties Jan. 1.

Holly Hemphill selected eight women to handle executive committee duties. They include the committee vice chair, installation visits coordinator, and the chairs and vice chairs of three subcommittees.

Hemphill selected Carolyn Ellis Staton of Oxford, Miss., as DACOWITS vice chair. Connie Best of Charleston, S.C. becomes installation visits director.

Sally Appel of Lake Geneva, Wis., (chair) and Leona Ford of Ruston, La., (vice chair) will serve on the quality management subcommittee. Jackie Young of Kailua, Hawaii, will chair the quality of life subcommittee, while Carol Maicki of Black Hawk, S.D., serves as vice chair.

Sharon Anderson of Seward, Alaska, chairs the forces development and utilization subcommittee. Her vice chairwoman is the Rev. Patricia Hanen of Tiffin, Ohio.

DACOWITS, founded in 1951 by Secretary of Defense George C. Marshall, helps DoD recruit and retain service women. The committee also provides advice to the secretary of defense on policies relating to the effective utilization of women in the services.

DACOWITS membership includes prominent civilian women and men representing academia, industry, public service and other professions. The defense secretary appoints members to threeyear terms, and all serve the committee without compensation.

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected