United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Three Officers Named White House Fellows

American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, June 27, 1997 – Three military officers are among 15 persons appointed June 25 by President Clinton to serve as 1997-1998 White House Fellows.

Army Maj. Terrence K. Kelly, Navy Lt. Cmdr. Sean Eugene O'Connor and Navy Cmdr. Clifford A. Skelton will spend the next year as full-time assistants to Cabinet secretaries, executive branch agency heads and senior White House staff. The 15 fellows were selected from hundreds of applicants nationwide on the basis of early career achievements, demonstrated skills, leadership potential and a proven commitment to public service.

Kelly, 37, is an assistant professor of systems engineering at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y. A native of New Rochelle, N.Y., he participated in Operation Urgent Fury in Grenada for which he was awarded a Bronze Star. He is a member of Parents for Excellence, a group working for academic excellence in public schools in Bethlehem, N.Y., and is a volunteer on the Consideration of Others Team, which mentors West Point cadets.

O'Connor, 35, is a surface warfare and shipbuilding analyst in the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations at the Pentagon. A native of Rumson, N.J., he served in Japan and the Persian Gulf and helped rescue several hundred refugees from the Mount Pinatubo eruption in the Philippines. During his tours, he rebuilt an orphanage in the Philippines and entertained handicapped children as part of an Adopt-A-School program in San Diego.

Skelton, 41, is commanding officer of Strike Fighter Squadron 105 at Naval Air Station Cecil Field, Fla. A native of Kingsville, Texas, he was responsible for the integration of women into one of the Navy's first combat aviation squadrons. He is a former lead solo pilot and operations officer with the Navy's Blue Angels flight demonstration team. While with the Blue Angels, he established an affiliation between the team and the Make-A-Wish Foundation. He is a fundraiser and volunteer for the National Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

Previous White House Fellows include retired Army Gen. Colin Powell, former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; and Gen. Wesley K. Clark, nominated to be Supreme Allied Commander, Europe.

Also named 1997-1998 White House Fellows are University of Minnesota associate professor Amy E. Alving, 34, a member of the Army Science Board, the Army secretary's senior scientific advisory board; and Matice J. Wright, 32, a business analyst in Bowie, Md., who is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Md., and was the Navy's first African-American female flight officer.

Other appointees are John C. Burchett, 35, Wayne County, Mich.; Brad R. Carson, 30, Tulsa, Okla.; Cheryl L. Dorsey, 33, and Peter Rundlet, 31, Washington; Dr. Sanjay Gupta, 28, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Francis J. James, 32, Phnom Penh, Cambodia; Jon P. Jennings, 34, Boston; Jamie Frederic Metzl, 28, Cambridge, Mass.; Jeffrey M. Prieto, 36, Princeton, N.J.; and Lois A. Scott, 36, Chicago. (White House release)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected