United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Air Force Takes Bowling Crown, Army Takes Individual Honors

By Rudi Williams and
American Forces Press Service

CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C., April 27, 1998 – Two soldiers took home bowling gold, but they couldn't stop the Air Force from winning the team championships at the armed forces bowling tourney here April 6-10.

Army Maj. Debra Sinek zoomed past a plethora of rivals to claim her second consecutive gold medal in the all events category. Army Sgt. 1st Class Tony Szeluga, with a stellar performance, captured the top spot in the mens all events category.

But Air Force bowlers outshot Army by 355 pins, 59,174 to 58,819, for the team championship. Navy placed third with a 56,682 pin fall. Marine bowlers knocked down 54,241 sticks for fourth place.

The Air Force women's team scored 6,984 pins to beat out their closest competition, the Army team (6,766), by 218 pins. In the men's event, Navy bowlers edged out second-place Army by 21 points, 7,596 to 7,575. Marine bowlers took third place with 7,467. The Air Force came in fourth with 7,454 pins.

Sineks outstanding performance (a 215 average and 5,161 pin fall), coupled with Szelugas (231 average, 5,551 pin fall), allowed Army to capture an all events double gold. Petty Officer 1st Class John Pangburn (223 average) took the silver medal with 5,358 fallen sticks. Air Force Senior Master Sgt. Franklin West (217 average) was third with 5,218 and Army Spec. Ray Porritt (215 average) came in fourth with 5,172.

In the women's all events category, Army 1st Sgt. Susan Pachal had a 207 average and a 4,975 total pin fall for second place. Navy Lt. Sylvia Nagy rolled a 203 average and knocked down 4,879 total pins for third. Coming in fourth was Air Force Tech. Sgt. Karen Glacken with a 202 average and 4,864 pin fall.

The all events category combines each bowler's scores from all 24 games bowled during the four-day tournament. Each team was made up of six women and six men for a total of 12 bowlers representing each service with 48 total bowlers participating in the four-day event.

The Armys mixed doubles team of Szeluga and Sinek (2,780) and Chief Warrant Officer Scott Hunter and Paschal (2,687) swept all services by taking first- and second-place honors, respectively. Air Force Staff Sgt. Mark Zamora and Tech. Sgt. Chris Coy took the bronze medal with a 2,601 pin fall. Tech. Sgts. Robert Daluz and Enna Vaughan were fourth with 2,566 pins.

In last years competition, Sinek posted a six-point higher average, 221, and knocked down 144 more pins, 5,305, to claim the womens top bowler title.

For the second year in a row, Sinek teamed up with Army Chief Warrant Officer Elaine Riggs to win the womens doubles title. Army bowlers got their first gold medal when Riggs and Sinek knocked down 2,540 pins to run away with the event. Air Force Staff Sgt. Kimberly Thompson and Tech Sgt. Muriel Howell had a 2,487 pin total for the silver medal. Navy Lts. Jodie Mustin and Nagy took the bronze with a 2,460. Fourth place went to Air Force Tech. Sgts. Chris Coy and Glacken with 2,400 pins.

In men's doubles, the Air Force combo of Tech. Sgt. Robert Daluz and West tallied 2,595 to snatch first place from the Army high rollers by one pin. Army's Szeluga and Sgt. Dwane Watkins combined for 2,594 pins. Petty Officer 2nd Class Charles Toy and Pangburn finished in third place with a total pin fall of 2,590. Navy Petty Officer 3rd Class Larry Sutterfield and Petty Officer 1st Class Shawn Vernon came in fourth with 2,543 pins.

Despite bowling a perfect 300 game during the final day's competition, Air Force Staff Sgt. Byron Randolph had to settle for second place (1,341) to Army's Szeluga (1,477) in mens singles competition.

Porritt was third with a 1,355 score. Pangburn was fourth with a 1,341 pin fall.

In the womens singles, Howell edged out Sinek 1,356 to 1,288 for the gold medal. Glacken finished third with 1,284 with her teammate Thompson taking fourth with 1,270 in the six game shootout.

The top four men and women bowlers were selected to compete in the National USA Bowling Championship Dec. 1-6 in Reno, Nev. The men are Szeluga, Toy, Porritt and Hunter. Toy will replace Pangburn, who is retiring in June. The womens team will be comprised of Sinek, Paschal, Nagy and Glacken.

(Smay is a journalist in the Public Affairs Office, Camp Lejeune, N.C.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected