United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Airman, Sailor Share Slogan Contest Honors

By Cheri A. Kelly
Special to American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, Sept. 9, 1997 – A sailor and an airman shared honors for the slogan "Feel the Power ... Vote" in the annual contest.

Chief Petty Officer Marisol Nieves, Annapolis, Md., and Air Force Maj. Ricky O. Stuart, Cannon Air Force Base, N.M., submitted the winning slogan. Federal Voting Assistance Program officials received more than 8,000 entries from around the world.

Nieves and Stuart will receive plaques from the secretary of defense for their winning slogan. Their slogan will be featured in the voting assistance program's 1998-99 media campaign. Officials said they hope the slogan will motivate the more than 6 million citizens covered by the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act to exercise their right to vote.

Second through fifth place and three honorable mentions were also selected by the judges and will receive plaques from the secretary of defense.

The second place winning slogan is "Vote Today for a Better Tomorrow!" submitted by Navy Chief Petty Officer Romualdo V. Cabal, Okinawa, Japan; third place went to Army Staff Sgt. Michael Maloney, Fort Hood, Texas, "Freedom Still Has Responsibility ... Vote!"; fourth was Coast Guard Lt. and Mrs. James Elliott, Morgan City. La., "Your Honor. Your Privilege. Your Duty. Vote." The fifth place slogan, "The Voice of America is the Voice of 'Your' Vote" was submitted by D. Shon, a civilian working for the Pearl Harbor Federal Credit Union, Honolulu.

The judges were Sen. John Warner of Virginia, Rep. William M. Thomas of California, Montana Secretary of State Mike Cooney, and Eva Kasten, executive vice president of The Advertising Council. (Kelly is a program assistant at the Federal Voting Assistance Program office.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected