United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

98639A. Sports Minded

National Guard Bureau

WASHINGTON, Nov. 3, 1998 – The University of Southern California Trojans lead the Pacific-10 Conference with 31 college football titles; who are second and third? UCLA Bruins (15), Washington Huskies (14)

What college football team won the last Southwest Conference title in 1995? The Texas Longhorns

What schools were the seven charter members of the Atlantic Coast Conference? Clemson, Duke, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Maryland, South Carolina and Wake Forest

Bob Neyland coached his college football team to an 83 percent win record -- 173-31-12 -- in his 21 years where? The University of Tennessee (The Volunteers football stadium in Knoxville is named after Neyland, who had three coaching stints with Tennessee between 1926 and 1952.)

Who won the first Butkis Award, presented annually since 1985 as college football's outstanding linebacker? Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma Sooners

What college football institution has had the most Heisman Trophy winners? The University of Notre Dame -- Angelo Bertelli (1943), Tim Brown (1987), Leon Hart (1949), Paul Hornung (1956), John Huarte (1964), Johnny Lattner (1953) and Johnny Lujack (1947)

Who won the most recent time that two undefeated teams met in a bowl game? The Nebraska Cornhuskers defeated the Florida Gators, 62- 24, in the 1996 Fiesta Bowl.

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected