United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 121-07
February 01, 2007

Civil Support Teams Certified for Five States

            The Department of Defense notified Congress today that Weapons of Mass Destruction Civil Support Teams (WMD-CST) of the New Hampshire, Vermont, Delaware, North Dakota and Montana National Guard are now certified.


            The 12th WMD-CST of Concord, N.H., the 15th WMD-CST of South Burlington, Vt., the 31st WMD-CST of Wilmington, Del., the 81st WMD-CST of Bismarck, N.D., and the 83rd WMD-CST of Fort Harrison, Mont., are fully ready to assist civil authorities in responding to a domestic weapon of mass destruction incident, and possess the requisite skills, training and equipment to be proficient in all mission requirements.


            The five teams certified today bring the total number of teams certified by DoD to 47.  Congress has authorized a total of 55 WMD-CSTs, which is enough to field at least one team in every state, territory and the District of Columbia.


            The remaining eight teams will be certified by September 2007.

Additional Links

Stay Connected