United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 706-07
June 06, 2007

DoD Announces Winners Of The Secretary Of Defense Environmental Awards

         The Department of Defense announced today the winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards for fiscal 2006. A panel representing federal and state agencies and public members has selected the following installations, teams, and individuals as the winners of this year’s awards:
Arnold Air Force Base, Tenn.
Natural Resources Conservation – Large Installation
Fort Drum, N.Y.
Cultural Resources Management – Installation
Gary M. O'Donnell, Hickam Air Force Base, Hawaii
Cultural Resources Management – Individual/Team
Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.
Environmental Quality – Industrial Installation
Marine Corps Base, Camp Smedley D. Butler, Japan
Environmental Quality – Overseas Installation
Marine Corps Base, Hawaii
Pollution Prevention – Non-Industrial Installation
Pollution Prevention Afloat Team, Naval Sea Systems Command, Washington, D.C.
Pollution Prevention – Individual/Team
Dover Air Force Base, Del.
Environmental Restoration – Installation
            Each year since 1962, the secretary of defense has recognized outstanding achievement in environmental management by military and civilian personnel, at both domestic and overseas bases, to sustain military readiness, training and operational capabilities.
            Kenneth Krieg, under secretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics, will officiate at the ceremony honoring the winners, on June 7, 2007, at 3 p.m. EDT in the Pentagon Auditorium (BH650). For more information on the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards Program and highlights of this year's winners and honorable mentions, please visit:

Additional Links

Stay Connected