United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 010-97
January 09, 1997


The Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Commandant of the Coast Guard will host an Armed Forces Review and Award Ceremony in honor of the Secretary of Defense, Dr. William J. Perry, at Summerall Field, Fort Myer, Va., at 10 a.m., Tuesday, Jan. 14, 1997. The ceremony, which is by invitation only, will include an Armed Forces full honor review, a fly-over, presentation of awards and remarks by Dr. Perry and Gen. John M. Shalikashvili, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

Dr. Perry is leaving the Department of Defense after four years, having served as Secretary since February 1994 and as Deputy Secretary from March 1993 to February 1994. His tenure has been marked by numerous notable achievements to include dramatic reductions in nuclear weapons, the creation of new security structures in Europe, the effective use of America's military in some 30 operations worldwide, and the successful management of the most extensive downsizing and restructuring of the U.S. military since World War II. He has forged an effective working relationship between the civilian and military leadership. But perhaps his greatest achievement is the bond he established with our nation's men and women in uniform.

Dr. Perry leaves a legacy of unparalleled leadership during a time of enormous change for the U.S. military, the Department of Defense, the nation, and the world. There is no one I admire and respect more than Bill Perry. He is a dear friend and I will miss working with him daily to ensure that America's Armed Forces remain strong and second to none, said General Shalikashvili.

In addition to General Shalikashvili, the members of the Joint Chiefs of Staff are Gen. Joseph W. Ralston, vice chairman; Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, chief of staff, U.S. Air Force; Gen. Dennis A. Reimer, chief of staff, U.S. Army; Gen. Charles C. Krulak, commandant of the Marine Corps; and Adm. Jay L. Johnson, chief of Naval Operations. The Commandant of the Coast Guard is Adm. Robert K. Kramek.

Media desiring to cover the event should contact Ms. Kim Walz at the Military District of Washington Public Affairs office at (202) 685-2892.

Additional Links

Stay Connected