United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 222-97
May 06, 1997


Secretary of the Navy John H. Dalton will be the recipient of the annual International Security Leadership Award. Only one individual is presented with this special award each year, and past recipients include former Presidents Ronald Reagan and George Bush, and former Senators Sam Nunn (Ga.) and Howell Heflin (Ala.). Dalton is the first service secretary to receive this award.

The co-chairmen of the bipartisan National Security Caucus (NSC) announced that Dalton will be recognized for his leadership and vision in promoting American seapower and a bipartisan maritime strategy at an 11:30 a.m. (EDT) reception and 12:30 p.m. luncheon on Wednesday, May 7th at the Washington Court Hotel, 525 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C.

The National Security Caucus is the largest congressional member organization, and the award will be presented to the Navy secretary on behalf of the 290 NSC lawmakers. It is the highest award presented by the caucus, and the award is sponsored by the non-profit National Security Caucus foundation.

The award will be presented by House Democratic Leader Richard Gephardt and the luncheon is being held in cooperation with the Paul Hall memorial committee of the University of Southern California. The audience will include NSC lawmakers, senior representatives of veterans organizations, as well as prominent leaders of the national security community and the maritime industry.

Reps. Chet Edwards and Randy (Duke) Cunningham, the administrative co-chairmen of the caucus, will assist Gephardt in presenting the award. They released the following statement: The past four years have presented Navy Secretary John Dalton with many challenges and opportunities. This has been a difficult time to serve as secretary of the Navy, and the entire national security community is very grateful for John Dalton's leadership and tremendous yeoman labor.

Since his graduation from the Naval Academy in 1964 and his subsequent service on USS Blueback and John C. Calhoun, Secretary Dalton's philosophy can best be described as maintaining peace through strength.' We know all of our colleagues in the National Security Caucus are indebted to the secretary for his active promotion of American seapower, a comprehensive and bipartisan maritime strategy, as well as U.S. global power projection. Secretary Dalton has also placed a high emphasis on improving and updating American technology, and his innovations have been responsible for numerous programs which have been on time and under budget.

Edwards and Cunningham concluded by saying, By all accounts, Secretary Dalton's operational strategy has been both aggressive and forward-looking, and under his guidance the Navy has been able to match tactics with the appropriate technology and equipment.

Previous recipients of the International Security Leadership Award are: 1979, Sen. John C. Stennis; 1980, Sen. Henry Jackson; 1981, Sen. Edward Zorinsky; 1982, Secretary of Defense Caspar Weinberger; 1983, President Ronald Reagan; 1984, Sen. John Tower; 1985, Ambassador Jeanne Kirkpatrick; 1986, Sen. Robert Dole; 1987, General Alexander M. Haig, Jr.; 1988, Sen. Howell Heflin; 1989, Rep. William L. Dickinson; 1990, Vice President Dan Quayle; 1991, Sen. Sam Nunn; 1992, Rep. Charles Bennett; 1993, President George Bush; 1994, Rep. John P. Murtha; 1995, Secretary of Defense Les Aspin; and 1996, Secretary of Defense William Perry.

For information concerning the reception and luncheon contact Tanya Daly at (202) 479-4580. FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM ANNOUNCED

The John H. Dalton Congressional Fellowship in Maritime Strategy Studies has been established by the non-profit NSC Foundation at the request of the co-chairmen of the bipartisan National Security Caucus in the U.S. Congress. The program is designed to honor the leadership role of Dalton and his efforts to promote American seapower and develop a comprehensive national maritime strategy.

Dalton received the 1997 International Security Leadership Award from the National Security Caucus and the fellowship program was created with an initial $100,000 contribution from the U.S. Maritime Coalition. The Dalton Fellowship Program will work to unite the worlds of scholarship and public policy. This will be done in a search for practical solutions to the challenge of maintaining and enhancing American seapower as well as an adequate strategic sealift capacity for the United States.

A major goal of the John H. Dalton Fellowship Program in Maritime Strategy Studies is preparing bipartisan synthesis of the best thinking on key maritime issues facing our nation today. John H. Dalton fellows will have the opportunity to work with members of Congress and their staffs, as well as business executives, diplomats, policy makers, and other scholars. Such interaction is one of the primary benefits of the fellowship program.

While all John H. Dalton Congressional fellows will receive recognition for their collective role in the development and implementation of a new maritime strategy, individual efforts will also be acknowledged. All scholarly research and analysis will be reviewed by lawmakers in the National Security Caucus, as well as the staff of the National Security Caucus foundation. If approved, the materials will be published by the National Security Caucus foundation.

Additional Links

Stay Connected