United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 955-09
December 08, 2009

DoD Hosts Annual Disability Awards Ceremony And Forum

The 29th Department of Defense (DoD) Disability Awards ceremony and 22nd DoD Disability Forum was hosted today by Acting Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Plans, Clarence Johnson, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Bethesda, Md.  This annual event provides an overview of DoD disability policy and initiatives, recognizes DoD organizations with outstanding affirmative action programs for people with disabilities, and highlights the accomplishments of DoD employees with disabilities.


“We are very proud of the outstanding achievements by our employees with disabilities,” said Johnson, “and the department remains committed to increasing opportunities for their success.”


The keynote speaker at the ceremony was Matthew A. Staton, direct advisor and staff assistant to the secretary of the Army on wounded soldier matters.  Staton medically retired from the Army in 2007, following two deployments to Iraq with the 8th Infantry Regiment.


                The following 14 DoD employees with disabilities received secretary of defense awards for their outstanding contributions to national security:


Noreen S. Ames, Defense Threat Reduction Agency

Julia E. Becker, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Richard F. Chatfield II, Defense Information Systems Agency

Howard G. Drake Jr., National Guard Bureau

Phillip W. Gregg, Defense Commissary Agency

Greg Hare, Department of the Air Force

Michele E. Hill, Defense Contract Audit Agency

Brooke A. Larrabee, Department of the Army

Anthony L. Parish, Defense Contract Management Agency

Margaret R. Posa, Office of the DoD Inspector General

Adam G. Post, Army Air Force Exchange Service

William J. Russell, Department of the Navy

George H. Stevens Jr., Defense Finance and Accounting Service

Delfina D. Zeigler, Defense Logistics Agency


                In addition, three DoD components, the Department of the Navy, Defense Finance and Accounting Service, and the Defense Contract Management Agency, received secretary of defense trophies for accomplishments in their affirmative actions programs for people with disabilities during 2009.


Additional Links

Stay Connected