United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 1027-11
December 15, 2011

DOD Announces 2011 DOD Chief Information Officer Award Winners

            Department of Defense announces today the recipients of this year’s DoD Chief Information Officer Awards at a Pentagon ceremony.

            This year marked the 11th anniversary of the DoD CIO Award and is the highest honor recognized by the department for achievement in information management and information technology.  More than 70 nominations were submitted worldwide including both civilian government employees and military. 

            The applicants were evaluated based on their outstanding achievement in one or more of the following eight critical IT areas:  acquisition; architecture and interoperability infrastructure; identity and information assurance and cyber operations; management and standards; synchronized and responsive operations and services; capital planning and optimized information technology investments; information management/technology/assurance workforce; and information sharing and data management.

            The award winners were chosen because of their exemplary performance in improving information delivery and dissemination, management capability, cost reduction and savings, a broad user base, process, mission impact, or net-centricity.

            Team awards were presented to:

            First Place:  Directorate of Communications, Office of the Defense Representative Pakistan/J6, U.S. Embassy Islamabad, Pakistan.

            Second Place:  Medical Communications for Combat Medical Care (MC4), U.S. Army, Fort Detrick, Md.

            Third Place:  Office of the Chief Information Officer, Joint Chiefs of Staff, The Pentagon Washington, D.C.

            Fourth Place:  C4 Systems (J6) Directorate, U.S. Forces Japan, Yokota Air Base, Japan.

            Fifth Place:  INSCOM Futures Development Team, U.S. Army, Fort Belvoir, Va.

            Individual awards were presented to:

            First Place:  Navy Lt. Hannah L. Bealon, International Security Assistance Force CJ2 Operational Support Element Systems, ISAF Headquarters, Afghanistan.

            Second Place:  Army Chief Warrant Officer Joshua L. Parks, 7th Theatre Tactical Signal Battalion, U.S. Army Schweinfurt, Germany / Joint Networks Communications Network Center, Afghanistan.

            Third Place:  Air Force Lt. Col. Pamela L. Woolley, Joint Staff OCIO, The Pentagon, Washington, D.C.

            Fourth Place:  Benjamin Pauwels, White House Communications Agency, Defense Information Systems Agency, Washington, D.C.

Additional Links

Stay Connected