United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 710-12
August 28, 2012

2012 Department of Defense Maintenance Awards Winners Announced

            The Department of Defense (DoD) announced today the 2012 winners of the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards for depot and field-level units.  These awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding achievements in weapon system and military equipment maintenance. 

            The 2012 Robert T. Mason Depot Maintenance Excellence Award recipient is the Air Force’s C-130 Programmed Depot Maintenance (PDM) Team at Warner Robins Air Logistics Center, Ga.  During 2011, the C-130 PDM Team increased C-130 aircraft availability by returning 64 aircraft to operating units, reduced work in-progress from 41 to 36 aircraft, slashed flow days from 102 to 69 days, achieved 100 percent on time delivery by the end of the fiscal year, and lowered customer reported deficiencies by 60 percent despite increased operational and repair demands on this fleet of aging aircraft.  The C-130 PDM team also expanded the use of dedicated crews, incorporated high-velocity maintenance concepts into the main production line, and consolidated widely scattered production facilities, freeing valuable space for other workloads. 

            The depot-level award is named in recognition of Robert T. Mason, a former assistant deputy under secretary of defense for maintenance policy, programs, and resources.  Mason served as the champion of organic depot maintenance for three decades and was instrumental in transforming DoD organic depot-level operations. 

            A total of six field-level awards are presented in three categories - large, medium, and small.  The recipients of this year’s Secretary of Defense Field-level Maintenance Awards in the large category are the 1st Squadron, 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment, United States Division-South, Fort Hood, Texas and the 23rd Maintenance Group, Moody Air Force Base, Ga.  Winners in the medium category are the Marine Aviation Logistics Squadron 40, 2nd Marine Aircraft Wing, Marine Corps Air Station Cherry Point, N.C. and the 3rd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska.  Small category winners are the Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron Seven Seven, Naval Air Station North Island, Calif. and the 353rd Special Operations Maintenance Squadron, Kadena Air Base, Japan.

            The awards will be presented to the winners at the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards banquet on Nov. 15, 2012, during the 2012 DoD Maintenance Symposium and Exhibition at the DeVos Place Convention Center in Grand Rapids, Mich.  Additional information regarding the 2012 DoD Maintenance Symposium and Exhibition can be found at http://www.sae.org/dod .

Additional Links

Stay Connected