United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 151-98
April 03, 1998


Assistant Secretary of Defense for Reserve Affairs Deborah R. Lee presided over the installation of the national executive committee for the National Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (NCESGR) in a ceremony held today in the Pentagon.

NCESGR was established in 1972 when this nation decided to end the draft in favor of an all-volunteer force. Its charter is to develop public understanding and obtain employer and community support for the nation's Reserve forces in order to ensure their availability and readiness.

The 15 member executive committee is composed of prominent individuals from industry, education, labor, and government. Their role is to report to the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Reserve Affairs and provide management review of processes that address issues concerning Guard and Reserve components and their civilian employers. Committee members will offer guidance on the use of National Guard and Reserve forces to DoD before it adversely impacts on recruitment and retention of those forces. They will also represent employer and community interests on issues affecting employer and community support for the Reserve components.

Under the law, executive committee members will serve terms of up to three years as consultants without compensation. Transportation, per diem and other appropriate expenses incurred by members of the committee will be funded according to Joint Travel Regulations.

More than 50 percent of today's military are represented in the nation's National Guard and Reserve forces. Since DESERT STORM, the Department of Defense has increasingly relied on the reserve components.

Those members installed today serving three-year terms include: Christopher J. Hoppin of Ramsey, N.J.; H. M. "Butch" O'Neill of Columbus, Ohio; John "Jack" C. Rennie of Billerica, Mass.; Fred M. Rosenbaum of Portland, Ore.; and Fred J. Taylor of Monticello, Ark.

Those members serving two-year terms include: P. Pasha Baker of Honolulu, Hawaii; Robert F. Hamel of Manchester, N.H.; Leonard B. Stolba of Fair Oaks, Calif.; retired Maj. Gen. Ansel M. Stroud Jr. of Shreveport, La.; and Preston M. Taylor, Jr. of Camden, N.J.

Those members who will serve for one year include: retired Maj. Gen. George M. Douglas of Colorado Springs, Colo.; A. Gregory Gutgsell Jr. of Bettendorf, Iowa; Peter S. Rothwell of Harrington Park, N.J.; retired Maj. Gen. Lucius Theus of Bloomfield Hills Mich.; and Ted C. Wetterau of St. Louis, Mo.

Additional Links

Stay Connected