United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 527-98
October 13, 1998


Secretary of Defense William Cohen announced the formation and first meeting of the National Security Study Group, which will be headed by former Sens. David Boren and Warren Rudman.

The National Security Study Group, known as the Boren-Rudman Commission, will be a two and one-half year effort to: determine the global security environment of the first quarter of the 21st century; analyze the character of the nation during that timeframe and develop an appropriate national security strategy; and to recommend alternatives to the current national security apparatus and processes to implement the new strategy.

Cohen stressed the bipartisan nature of what is described as the most comprehensive review of the national security environment, processes, and organizations since the National Security Act of 1947. Boren and Rudman indicated that the work of the commission will be focused on the future with the goal of providing the next administration and the 107th Congress with a roadmap for ensuring a viable security strategy and structure for the first 25 years of the new century.

The charter for the group was published on July 1, 1998, and the initial meeting was held on Oct. 6, 1998, at which Cohen provided his guidance. Speaker Newt Gingrich also attended, pledging congressional support for this important endeavor.

Invited to participate as members of the Boren-Rudman Commission are:

Stephen Ambrose, noted historian and author.

Anne Armstrong, former U.S. ambassador to the United Kingdom and chairperson of the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board.

Norm Augustine, former chairman and chief executive officer of Lockheed Martin.

Lynne Cheney, senior fellow at the American Enterprise Institute.

Bud Dancy, former NBC White House and diplomatic correspondent.

John Galvin, retired general and former NATO commander.

Les Gelb, president of the Council on Foreign Relations.

Gary Hart, former senator from Colorado.

Lee Hamilton, retiring congressman from Indiana.

Lionel Olmer, former undersecretary of Commerce and member of the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board.

Don Rice, chief executive officer UroGenesys and former secretary of the Air Force.

Henry Schacht, director and senior advisor to Lucent Technologies.

Jim Schlesinger, former secretary of Defense and Energy, and former director of the CIA.

Harry Train, retired admiral and former commander of NATO Atlantic forces.

Pete Wilson, retiring as governor of California.

Andrew Young, former mayor of Atlanta and former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations.

A study group consisting of more than 30 scholars, retired military officers, and former career intelligence and Foreign Service officers will support the work of the commission. In addition, the commission will seek extensive input from a wide range of experts in business, academia, the private sector and key former and current security experts, both in the United States and abroad. Retired Air Force Gen. Chuck Boyd will serve as executive director of this study group.

For more information call Maj. Bryan Salas at (703) 697-1253.

Additional Links

Stay Connected