United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 222-00
May 02, 2000


Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen has announced the designation of three new members of the Reserve Forces Policy Board.

Navy Reserve Rear Adm. John G. Cotton was appointed the U.S. Naval Reserve member, effective March 1, 2000. He currently serves as the deputy director of the Naval Reserve.

Navy Rear Adm. Joseph A. Sestak Jr. was appointed the U.S. Navy member, effective, May 1, 2000. He currently serves as director, Strategy and Policy Division, Office of the Chief of Naval Operations.

Army Reserve Maj. Gen. Paul C. Bergson has been appointed as the U.S. Army Reserve member, effective July 1, 2000.

An individual mobilization augmentee, he currently serves as the military deputy to the deputy under secretary of the Army (International Affairs).

The 24-member board was created by Congress in 1952.

Acting through the assistant secretary of Defense for Reserve Affairs, the board serves as the principal policy advisor to the secretary of Defense on military Reserve force matters.

Members include the assistant secretary responsible for Reserve affairs from each of the military departments, and active duty and Reserve forces general and flag officers representing all Services, including the Coast Guard.

Additional Links

Stay Connected