United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 410-00
July 17, 2000


Gen. Charles J. Cunningham Jr., director of the Defense Security Service, today presented the Department of Defense's James S. Cogswell Award for Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement to 50 companies participating in the National Industrial Security Program. The award ceremony was held at the National Classification Management Society's 36th Annual National Training Seminar in Arlington, Va.

The Cogswell Award recipients were recognized for their outstanding security performance and practices in carrying out rational, cost-effective security measures. The 50 companies selected to receive the award distinguished themselves from among a group of more than 11,600 cleared facilities participating in the industrial security program. In keeping with the program's goals, these companies excelled in joint partnerships with the government to implement best practices in security management.

The Cogswell Award is named to honor the first chief of the office of Industrial Security, Col. James S. Cogswell, who created the basic principles forming the National Industrial Security Program. It was established in 1966 as the "Industrial Security Award for Excellence."

A complete list of award recipients is available in the "What's New" section of the Defense Security Service's homepage, at www.dss.mil.

Additional Links

Stay Connected