United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 224-02
May 01, 2002


The Department of Defense announced today that servicemembers on active duty on or after Sept. 11, 2001, are eligible to receive the National Defense Service Medal.

"The sacrifices and contributions made by the Armed Forces in direct response to the terrorism attacks on the United States and to the long-term resolution of terrorism merit special recognition," said Deputy Secretary of Defense Paul Wolfowitz.

The National Defense Service Medal may also be awarded to members of the Reserve components who are ordered to federal active duty, regardless of duration, except for certain categories.

While no closing date has been established, eligible servicemembers can receive the award immediately.

The National Defense Service Medal was first established by President Eisenhower in 1953, and was subsequently awarded for honorable active service for any period between June 27, 1950 and July 27, 1954, between Jan. 1, 1961 and Aug. 14, 1974, and between Aug. 2, 1990 and Nov. 30, 1995.

The National Defense Service Medal is on the web at https://www.perscom.army.mil/tagd/tioh/Awards/NATIONAL%20DEFENSE%20SERVICE%20MEDAL1.htm. [Link no longer available.]

Additional Links

Stay Connected