United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 300-03
May 05, 2003


Secretary of Defense Donald H. Rumsfeld today announced the winners of the 2002 Secretary of Defense Annual Environmental Awards Program. The winners and categories for which they are recognized are:

* Naval Air Station Whidbey Island, Wash.-Pollution Prevention

* U.S. Army HQ Forces Command, Fort McPherson, Ga.-Pollution Prevention

* Marine Corps Base Camp Butler, Japan-Environmental Quality

* Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.-Environmental Quality

* Texas Army National Guard, Texas-Cultural Resources Management

* U.S. Army Intelligence Center and Fort Huachuca, Ariz.-Natural Resources Conservation

* Hill Air Force Base, Utah-Environmental Restoration

* Karlene B. Leeper, 611th Air Support Group, Elmendorf Air Force Base, Alaska-Cultural Resources Management

Each year, the secretary of defense honors installations, teams and individuals for outstanding efforts by military and civilian personnel, at both domestic and overseas bases, who promote and make significant lasting contributions to Department of Defense environmental programs.

Environmental awards are given for six categories: Natural Resources Conservation, Cultural Resources Management, Environmental Quality, Pollution Prevention, Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition and Environmental Restoration. The environmental programs for these categories support the U.S. military mission, protect our national heritage and promote quality of life.

An award ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 7, at 3 p.m. EDT in the Pentagon Center Courtyard. The event is open for media coverage. The point of contact is Glenn Flood, (703) 695-6294; e-mail: glenn.flood@osd.mil.

Additional information on DoD's environmental programs may be found at https://www.denix.osd.mil.

Additional Links

Stay Connected