United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 404-03
June 10, 2003

New Member Joins the Technology and Privacy Advisory Committee

Former Secretary of the Army and U.S. House of Representatives member from Virginia, John O. Marsh Jr., is the newest member to join the Technology and Privacy Advisory Committee (TAPAC).  Marsh is currently a professor of law at George Mason University.


Current members of TAPAC are Newton Minow (chairman), director of the Annenberg Washington Program and the Annenberg Professor of Communications Law and Policy at Northwestern University; Floyd Abrams, civil rights attorney; Zoe Baird, president, Markle Foundation; Griffin Bell, former U.S. attorney general and court of appeals judge; Gerhard Casper, president emeritus for Stanford University and Professor of Law; William T. Coleman Jr., former secretary of transportation; and Lloyd Cutler, former White House counsel.


Established by the Department of Defense as the outside advisory committee, TAPAC provides oversight of the Terrorism Information Awareness (TIA) project.  The first open meeting will take place June 19, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. EDT at the Hyatt Arlington, 1325 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Va.

Additional Links

Stay Connected