United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

Press Advisory

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

Press Advisory


IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Release No: 123-97
May 27, 1997

USAFA Graduation Marks Start of Secretary Cohen's Visits to Colo., Neb., Calif.

Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen will depart from Andrew Air Force Base this evening for Colorado Springs, Colo. to deliver the commencement address* for the graduating class of 1997 at 11:25 a.m. (MDT) [1:25 p.m. eastern], tomorrow, May 28, at Falcon Stadium, United States Air Force Academy.

Prior to his remarks, Secretary Cohen will hold a media availability* in the stadium press box at 10:25 a.m. (MDT) [12:25 p.m. eastern]. The events are open to media coverage. Point of contact is Neal Talbot, USAFA chief of media relations, (719) 333- 4050.

Later that day, the Secretary will travel to Colorado Springs where he will visit headquarters for U.S. Space Command and North American Air Defense Command for a tour of facilities and briefings. He will continue on to Strategic Command Headquarters, Offutt Air Force Base, Neb., for additional briefings and tours the following morning, May 29, before holding a second media availability* at 1 p.m. (CDT) [2 p.m. eastern] at the Offutt AFB Officers Club. Point of contact is Gregg Bottemiller, (402) 294-1068.

Following his visit, Secretary Cohen will travel on to Los Angeles, Calif. where he will make remarks at a dinner honoring Bob Hope's receipt of the Freedom Award at 9:30 p.m. (PDT) [12:30 a.m. eastern], in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel, 9876 Wilshire Blvd., Beverly Hills, Calif. The event is sponsored by the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation. Point of contact is Linda Schuler, foundation public affairs officer, (805) 522-2977.

The next morning, Secretary Cohen will address issues surrounding the Quadrennial Defense Review at a QDR breakfast meeting* at with the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce at 8 a.m. (PDT) [11 a.m. eastern] in the Ahmanson Dining Commons, Malone Student Center, Loyola Marymount University, 7900 Loyola Blvd., Westchester, Calif. Point of contact is Rose Krupp, district office press secretary for U.S. Rep. Jane Harmon, (310) 783-8220.

Secretary Cohen will return to Washington, D.C. on Friday, May 30.

* -- Attempts will be made to air the audio portions of this event on Pentagon Cable Channel 13.

Additional Links

Stay Connected