United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

Press Advisory

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

Press Advisory


IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Release No: 174-97
July 18, 1997

Secretary Cohen Scheduled for West Coast Speaking Engagements July 21

Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen is scheduled for speaking engagements and a media availability while visiting West Coast communities, Monday, July 21, 1997.

On Monday, Secretary Cohen will address members of the East Bay Conversion and Reinvestment Commission, the Alameda Reuse and Redevelopment Authority, and the Oakland Base Reuse Authority at 7:40 a.m. (PDT) [10:40 a.m. (EDT)] in Hangar 20, Alameda Point, Alameda, Calif. Following his remarks, he will tour the former Alameda Naval Air Station and then hold a media availability outside Hangar 20 with Rep. Ron Dellums starting at 8:30 a.m. (PDT) [11:30 a.m. (EDT)].

The events are open to the media. Point of contact is Dave Davis, media coordinator, (510) 548-1360.

Later that day, the Secretary will address more than 300 members of academia, as well as civic and business leaders from the Bay area during the Commonwealth Club of California and World Affairs Council Luncheon at 12:30 p.m. (PDT) [3:30 p.m.(EDT)] in the Gold Room of the Fairmount Hotel, 950 Mason Street, San Francisco.

This event is also open to the media. Point of contact is Susan Guyette, Commonwealth Club director of Public Relations, (415) 597-6726.

Plans currently call for airing the audio portions of all three of theses events on Pentagon Cable Channel 13.