United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

The Medal of Honor is the
United States' highest military decoration. It has been bestowed on 3,467 men and one woman
(a Civil War surgeon) since President Abraham Lincoln signed it into law on Dec. 21, 1861. It is reserved for those who are distinguished "conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States."

View MoH Presentation

View Presentation

Visit Service Sites

Medal of Honor Recipients - click to view service websites Army Sgt. 1st Class Paul R. Smith Navy Lieutenant Michael P. Murphy Marine Corporal Jason L. Dunham Army Specialist Ross A. McGinnis Army Sgt. 1st Class Paul R. Smith Army Staff Sgt. Salvatore A. Giunta Army Staff Sgt. Robert J. Miller Army Staff Sgt. Clifton L. Romesha Marine Sgt. Dakota L. Meyer Army Sgt. 1st Class Jared C. Monti Army Sgt. 1st Class Leroy A. Petry Army Staff Sgt. Ty Michael Carter Army Capt. William D. Swenson