United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

U.S. Unified Combatant Commands
December 2013
The Defense Department has nine unified combatant commands, each with responsibilities for a geographic region or functional area in support of U.S. strategic objectives. Their mission is to maintain command and control of U.S. military forces around the world in peacetime as well as in conflict. Click on a command for exclusive news coverage and more information.
Unified Combatant Command strategic map U.S. Northern Command NORTHCOM U.S. European Command EUCOM U.S. Southern Command SOUTHCOM U.S. Africa Command AFRICOM U.S. Central Command CENTCOM U.S. Pacific Command PACOM U.S. Transportation Command TRANSCOM U.S. Special Forces Command SOCOM U.S. Strategic Command STRATCOM

Additional Links

Stay Connected