United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Valor Website Now Includes Service Crosses

American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, Aug. 1, 2012 – A website launched last week that lists recipients of the military’s highest awards for valor for actions since the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks has been updated with service cross recipients, Defense Department officials announced today.

The site -- at http://valor.defense.gov -- is designed to raise awareness of service members’ heroism and to help deter those who falsely claim military honors, officials said.

The site launched with the names of Medal of Honor recipients for actions since 9/11, and now lists recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross, Air Force Cross and Navy Cross. The services are continuing to compile the lists of Silver Star recipients to add to the site, officials said.


Contact Author

Related Sites:
Military Awards for Valor - Top 3

Related Articles:
New Website Honors Service Members’ Valor

Additional Links

Stay Connected