United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

DoD Names Top Journalists, Broadcasters for 2002

American Forces Press Service

FORT GEORGE G. MEADE, Md., May 7, 2003 – Winners of the 2002 Thomas Jefferson Awards Program competition were announced May 6 by the Defense Information School here.

Kent Cummins, 71st Flying Training Wing Public Affairs, Vance Air Force Base, Okla., is the print journalist of the year. Army Sgt. Eric Shadowens, American Forces Network-South, Vicenza, Italy, is the broadcast journalist of the year. The competition was held at the school April 22-23.

A complete list of print and broadcast category winners is located at the Thomas Jefferson awards Web site at http://events.dinfos.osd.mil/tjweb/. The site includes the winning entries in the print and broadcast categories for listening and viewing.

The Thomas Jefferson Awards Program, named after the nation's third president and author of the Declaration of Independence, recognizes military and civilian employee print and broadcast journalists for outstanding achievements in furthering the objectives of the DoD Internal Information Program. The assistant secretary of defense for public affairs sponsors the annual competition to stimulate and reward excellence and professionalism in military print and broadcast media.

Prior to the competition, each service judges its own entries and selects the best entry in each category to represent that service in the final interservice competition.

(Based on a release from the Defense Information School.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected