United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

DoD Names Military Journalists of the Year

American Forces Press Service

ALEXANDRIA, Va., June 7, 1996 – DoD named its top journalists for 1995 during its recent Thomas Jefferson journalism competition.


Print journalist of the year is Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Robert Benson, staff writer with Hawaii Navy News, Pearl Harbor Naval Base,Hawaii. Second place went to Jackie M. Thomas, an Army civilian who writes for Paraglide, the 18th Airborne Corps newspaper at Fort Bragg, N.C.


In the broadcast competition, top honors went to Air Force Staff Sgt. Christopher Beckwith of the Air Force News Agency at Kelly Air Force Base, Texas. Army Sgt. Jay Harrell of Soldiers Radio and Television in Alexandria, Va., took second.


The American Forces Information Service sponsors the annual competition. Print judges were Laird Anderson, a professor of communications at American University in Washington, Defense News staff writer Rob Holzer and James Kitfield of The National Journal. Mike McLare, production director for The Military Channel, producer Bill Dobbs of BIZNET (U.S. Chamber of Commerce) and video tape editor Janet Dobbs of NBC television affiliate WRC in Washington judged the broadcast entries.

Individual Categories -- Newspapers

Large military funded newspapers

1st -- Naval Reservist News, Naval Reserve Force, New Orleans

2nd -- Prairie Soldier, Nebraska National Guard, Lincoln, Neb.

Other military funded newspapers

1st -- Forward March, March Air Force Base, Calif.

2nd -- The Rough Rider, USS Theodore Roosevelt

Civilian enterprise (metro) newspapers

1st -- The Flagship, Naval Base, Norfolk, Va.

2nd -- Fort Campbell Courier, Fort Campbell, Ky.

Civilian enterprise (tabloid) newspapers

1st -- Kadena Shogun, Kadena Air Base, Japan

2nd -- Marneland Crusader, 98th Area Support Group, Wuerzburg, Germany

Magazine format newspapers

1st -- Arctic Soldier, Fort Richardson, Alaska

2nd -- Leading Edge, Air Force Materiel Command, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio


News Writing

1st -- Tech. Sgt. Bud McKay, McChord Air Force Base, Wash.

2nd -- Spc. John D. Tiller, Fort Campbell, Ky.

Feature Writing

1st -- Sgt. Brandon Haught, Marine Corps Recruiting Station, Oklahoma City

2nd -- Capt. John Goheen, Maryland Army National Guard, Baltimore

Commentary Writing

1st -- Capt. John C. Milliman, Consolidated Public Affairs Office, Marine Corps Base, Hawaii

2nd -- Maj. Terry Thompson (Army), 122nd Public Affairs Detachment, Tacoma, Wash.

Sports Writing

1st -- Senior Airman Jason Tudor, Tyndall Air Force Base, Fla.

2nd -- David Hamilton, 26th Area Support Group, Heidelberg, Germany

Open Writing

1st -- Tech. Sgt. Timothy Barela, Airman Magazine, Kelly Air Force Base, Texas.

2nd -- Chief Warrant Officer Robert Jenks, Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps, Washington

Special Achievement in Print Media

1st -- Air Force Office of Special Investigations, Bolling Air Force Base, Washington

2nd -- Harry F. Noyes III, U.S. Army Medical Command, Fort Sam Houston, Texas

Still Photography/Graphics

Single or Stand-Alone Photos

1st -- Spc. Joseph Zauner, Fort Knox, Ky.

2nd -- Cpl. Kane Walsh, Marine Corps Base, Camp Butler, Japan

News, Feature or Sports Picture Stories

1st -- Petty Officer 1st Class William Goodwin, Pearl Harbor Naval Base, Hawaii

2nd -- Jack Gordon, 99th Recruiting Squadron, Oakdale, Pa.

News, Feature or Sports Photo Supporting a Story

1st -- Petty Officer 2nd Class Robert Benson, Pearl Harbor Naval Base, Hawaii

2nd -- Zauner

Illustrative Art

1st -- Gunnery Sgt. Thomas Neal, Headquarters, Marine Corps Recruiting Command, Washington

2nd -- John Williams, Naval Safety Center, Norfolk, Va.


Radio entertainment program

1st -- Sgt. Jeffrey M. Selby (Army), Far East Network, Tokyo

2nd -- Petty Officer 3rd Class Jason E. Ditto (Navy), American Forces Network, Sigonella, Italy

Radio Spot Production

1st -- Staff Sgt. Theodore Reid Northrup (Air Force), Detachment 1, Air Force Broadcasting Squadron, Frankfurt, Germany

2nd -- Selby

Radio Information Program

1st -- Gail McCabe (Army), 21st Theater Area Army Command, Kaiserslautern, Germany

2nd -- Selby

Local Radio Broadcast

1st -- American Forces Network, Kaiserslautern, Germany

2nd -- Naval Media Center Broadcasting Detachment, Sasebo, Japan

Non-Local Radio Broadcast

1st -- AFN News, American Forces Network-Europe, Frankfurt, Germany


Television News or Feature Stories

1st -- 133rd Public Affairs Detachment, Kentucky Army National Guard, Frankfort, Ky.

2nd -- Staff Sgt. Christopher Beckwith, Air Force News Service, Kelly Air Force Base, Texas

Television Sports News or Feature

1st -- Petty Officer 2nd Class Ronald Flanders, Naval Media Center, San Diego.

2nd -- Staff Sgt. Pat McGuire (Army), American Forces Network, Wuerzburg, Germany

Television Spot Production

1st -- Southern Command Network, Panama

2nd -- Detachment 7, Air Force Broadcasting Squadron, Incirlik Air Base, Turkey

Television Information Program

1st -- Far East Network, Marine Corps Air Station, Iwakuni, Japan

2nd -- Southern Command Network, Panama

Local Television Newscast

1st -- Detachment 8, Air Force Broadcast Squadron, Aviano Air Base, Italy

2nd -- American Forces Network, Wuerzburg, Germany

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected