United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

DoD Receives Hammer Award

By Staff Sgt. Alicia K. Borlik, USA
American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, June 16, 1998 – A team of 19 DoD civilians received the prestigious Hammer Award at the Pentagon June 4 for their work in creating and implementing DoD's Welfare to Work Program.

Francis M. Rush Jr., acting assistant defense secretary for force management policy, accepted the award from Bob Stone, principal deputy director of the National Partnership for Reinventing Government. Stone's group calls its award Vice President Al Gore's "answer to yesterday's government and its $400 hammer." The award consists of a $6 hammer, a ribbon and a framed note from Gore.

Shortly after signing the Welfare Reform Bill in late 1996, President Clinton directed federal agencies to set the example by helping welfare recipients enter the work force successfully. The civilian team led DoD's efforts to develop a Welfare to Work Program handbook and programs to ease participants' transition from welfare.

In just one year, Rush said, DoD achieved 66 percent of its four-year hiring goal. "We now have hired 1,058 former welfare recipients, more than any other federal agency, despite our substantial overall downsizing," he said.

Rush accepted the award for team leader Diane M. Disney, deputy assistant defense secretary for civilian personnel policy, who was at a White House engagement. Team members received award certificates and pins.

Washington area winners are Nancy J. Hill and Joseph Gillis from Disney's staff; Bart Kuhns, Greg Pharr and Donna Hanson from the Defense Civilian Personnel Management Service; Shirley Howard, Yolanda Maldinado, Cheryl Vinci and Sandra Curran from Department of the Army; Yvette Waters, Diane Hart, Lynn Wright and Marty Zidek from Department of the Navy; and Eric Dilworth and Susan Atwater from Department of the Air Force.

Rounding out the team are Kay Fannin from the Defense Commissary Agency, Fort Lee, Va.; Ruth Mariner from the Navy Exchange Command, Virginia Beach, Va.; and James Winters from the Army and Air Force Exchange Service, Dallas.

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected