United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Sports Minded

National Guard Bureau

WASHINGTON, Sept. 24, 1998 –  

What three new arenas will debut in the National Hockey League this season, and who are the home teams?

Broward County Arena, Florida Panthers; Nashville Arena, Nashville Predators; and Air Canada Centre, Toronto Maple Leafs.


Who has earned six Professional Bowlers Association Player of the Year Awards?

Earl Anthony


Sprinter Florence "FloJo" Griffith-Joyner, who died Sept. 21, remains the world record holder in the women's 100- and 200-meter runs. She set the 200 world record at the 1988 Olympics in South Korea. Where and when did she set 100-meter record?

Indianapolis, July 16, 1988


Who is the only linebacker to win Super Bowl MVP honors?

Chuck Howley, Dallas Cowboys, Super Bowl V. (He is also the only MVP who played for the losing team.)


The New York Yankees have won 34 American League pennants, and the Brooklyn-Los Angeles Dodgers have won 19 National League pennants. What teams are in second place behind those league leaders?

The New York-San Francisco Giants have 17 National League pennants; the Philadelphia-Kansas City-Oakland Athletics have 14 American League pennants.


What major league pitcher holds the record for most home runs allowed in a single season?

Bert Blyleven, Minnesota Twins, 50 home runs allowed in 1986.


Twelve players have hit four home runs in one game. Who are the first and latest players to complete this feat?

Bobby Lowe, Boston Braves, May 30, 1894, was the first. Mark Whitten, St. Louis Cardinals, Sept. 7, 1993, is the latest. (The last American League player to hit four home runs in a game was Rocky Colavito of the Cleveland Indians, June 10, 1959.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected