United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Forsee, Collins Win Laurels at Blue Angel Marathon

By Master Sgt. Stephen Barrett, USA
American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, March 4, 1997 – Bridget Collins of Naperville, Ill., and David Forsee of Indianapolis claimed top honors at the 14th annual Blue Angel Marathon, held Feb. 22 in Pensacola, Fla.

Collins, who works at a veterans hospital in Naperville, broke the Pensacola course record in winning the women's title. The 35-year-old runner crossed the finish line in 2 hours, 51 minutes, 23 seconds, cutting more than three minutes off Brenda Walton's 1990 record of 2:54:37..

Finishing nearly 13 minutes behind Collins was Patt Loggins of Charleston, S.C., who logged a time of 3:04:49. Pensacola's Heather Turner was third, finishing at 3:05:37, while Kris Clark-Setnes of Eagle, Wis., crossed two minutes later. Allison Eagen of Tallahassee, Fla., finished fifth.

Forsee, 28, ran the 26.2 mile course in 2:33:21 in winning the men's competition. An employee with the Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Forsee finished nearly seven minutes ahead of his closest competitor, Curt Rogers of Derby, Kan. (2:40:02).

Whitney Miller of Carmel, Ind., finished third, crossing the finish line at 2:41:35. Jim Clabuesch of Cary, N.C., was three seconds behind Miller, while Matthew Lameyer of St. Petersburg, Fla., recorded a 2:43:24 for fifth place.

In other competitions, Ray Workman of Salt Lake City captured the men's masters title for runners over 45. His 2:43:38 placed him seventh. The women's masters title went to Kathy Gruber of Indian Rocks Beach, Fla. She recorded a 3:18:31 and finished ninth among women competitors.

Todd Robinson and Julia Wallace captured top wheelchair honors. Robinson stroked his way to 2:19:05 to win the men's title. Wallace, the women's wheelchair winner at the 1996 Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, recorded a 2:19:43 in claiming her title.


Men's Results

Runner                  Hometown                  Time

1. David Forsee         Indianapolis, Ind.        2:33:21

2. Curt Rogers          Derby, Kan.               2:40:02

3. Whitney Miller       Carmel, Ind.              2:41:35

4. Jim Clabuesch        Cary, N.C.                2:41:38

5. Matthew Lameyer      St. Petersburg, Fla.      2:43:24

6. Timothy Wandervlugt  Cottage Grove, Ore.       2:43:38

7. Ray Workman          Salt Lake City            2:43:38

8. Scott Parker         Hoover, Ala.              2:46:54

9. John Davidson        Yorktown, Va.             2:47:12

10. Dennis Wallach      Eden Prairie, Minn.       2:48:24

Women's Results

Runner                  Hometown                  Time

1. Bridget Collins      Naperville, Ill.          2:51:23

2. Patt Loggins         Charleston, S.C.          3:04:49

3. Heather Turner       Pensacola, Fla.           3:05:37

4. Kris Clark-Setnes    Eagle, Wis.               3:07:42

5. Allison Eagen        Tallahassee, Fla.         3:09:59

6. Beth Valenzuela      Cantonment, Fla.          3:14:44

7. Terri Fussner        Pensacola, Fla.           3:16:06

8. Kellie Smith         Birmingham, Ala.          3:17:45

9. Kathy Gruber         Indian Rocks Beach, Fla.  3:18:31

10. Marianne Lameyer    St. Petersburg, Fla.      3:19:21

(Mike Antoine of the Pensacola Naval Air Station Gosport contributed to this article.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected