United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Department Hosts Disability Awards Ceremony, Forum

American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, Dec. 8, 2009 – Defense Department officials today highlighted the Pentagon’s programs for people with disabilities and recognized accomplishments of employees with disabilities.

Clarence Johnson, acting deputy undersecretary of defense for plans, served as host for the department’s disability awards ceremony and forum in Bethesda, Md.

This annual event provides an overview of the Defense Department’s disability policy and initiatives, recognizes organizations with outstanding affirmative action programs for people with disabilities, and highlights the accomplishments of employees with disabilities.

"We are very proud of the outstanding achievements by our employees with disabilities," said Johnson, "and the department remains committed to increasing opportunities for their success."

Matthew A. Staton, direct advisor and staff assistant to the secretary of the Army on wounded soldier matters, was the event’s keynote speaker. Staton medically retired from the Army in 2007, following two deployments to Iraq with the 8th Infantry Regiment.

The following department employees with disabilities received secretary of defense awards for their outstanding contributions to national security:

-- Noreen S. Ames, Defense Threat Reduction Agency;

-- Julia E. Becker, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency;

-- Richard F. Chatfield II, Defense Information Systems Agency;

-- Howard G. Drake Jr., National Guard Bureau;

-- Phillip W. Gregg, Defense Commissary Agency;

-- Greg Hare, Department of the Air Force;

-- Michele E. Hill, Defense Contract Audit Agency;

-- Brooke A. Larrabee, Department of the Army;

-- Anthony L. Parish, Defense Contract Management Agency;

-- Margaret R. Posa, Office of the Defense Department Inspector General;

-- Adam G. Post, Army and Air Force Exchange Service;

-- William J. Russell, Department of the Navy;

-- George H. Stevens Jr., Defense Finance and Accounting Service; and

-- Delfina D. Zeigler, Defense Logistics Agency.

In addition, the Department of the Navy, Defense Finance and Accounting Service, and the Defense Contract Management Agency received secretary of defense trophies for accomplishments in their affirmative-action programs for people with disabilities during 2009.

(From a Defense Department news release.)

Contact Author

Additional Links

Stay Connected