United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 320-07
March 21, 2007

Standardization Program Presents Annual Achievement Awards

            Two individuals and four teams received awards from the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO) for outstanding contributions to the Department of Defense last fiscal year. The awards were presented this month during a ceremony Arlington, Va.
            Since 1987, DSPO has recognized individuals and organizations that have effected significant improvements in quality, reliability, readiness, cost reduction, and interoperability through standardization. The Defense Standardization Program mission is to identify, influence, develop, manage, and provide access to standardization processes, products and services for warfighters and the acquisition and logistics communities. In addition, the program promotes interoperability and assists in reducing total ownership cost and in sustaining readiness. 
            Individual award recipients for 2006 include James Colson, general engineer, U.S. Army Materiel Command, Logistics Support Activity, Redstone Arsenal, Ala. Colson led the effort to gain agreement on and finalize a government electronics and information association standard, GEIA 927, melding the data concepts of diverse functional areas into one related entity. Also honored is B. Jon Klauenberg, a senior research physiologist for the Air Force Materiel Command. Klauenberg initiated and successfully gained Defense Standardization Program approval for establishing a new standardization area, Radiofrequency Exposure to Personnel Safety. 
            Team winners include U.S. Army Armaments Research, Development, and Engineering Center 155mm Howitzer and Ammunition Interoperability Program Team, which led the effort to update the Joint Ballistics Memorandum of Understanding, the de facto international standard for development of 155mm howitzers and ammunition. Members are Russell Fiscella, Ralph Favale, James Rutkowski, James Bendick and Douglas Brown.
            The U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Research, Development and Engineering Center, I2WD Common Army Air Defense Interrogator Team developed a state-of-the-art system to differentiate between friendly and enemy aerial platforms. Members are Steve Haught, Billie Thomas, Dave Seliga, Cecilia Black and Ed Seamans.
            U.S Navy, Naval Sea Systems Command, Testing, Measurement, and Diagnostic Equipment Program Team launched an initiative to standardize and modernize the inventory of general-purpose electronic test equipment. Members are Ed Chergoski, Steven Makieil and Donna Morse-Eaves.
            U.S. Air Force, Air Force Material Command, Aeronautical Systems Center and Air Armament Center, Universal Armament Interface Team, worked to standardize the data interface between aircraft and weapons to enable the rapid deployment of precision-guided munitions. Members are Nadine Thomas, Elizabeth Jones, Oren Edwards, Lee Kashka, and Kristina Paige. 
            Additional information on the Defense Standardization Program is available at the DSP website at http://www.dsp.dla.mil .

Additional Links

Stay Connected