United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 349-08
April 25, 2008

DoD Announces Winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards

            The Department of Defense announced today the winners of the 2007 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.  The winning installations and teams include:
            Naval Weapons Station, Seal Beach, Calif.
            Redstone Arsenal, Ala.
            Naval Air Engineering Station, Lakehurst, N.J.
            Hill Air Force Base, Utah
            Robins Air Force Base, Ga.
            Seymour Johnson Air Force Base, N.C.
            Fairchild Air Force Base, Wash.
            Partnering Team, Marine Corps Air Station Cherry Point, N.C.
            Pennsylvania Army National Guard Natural Resources Conservation Team,
            Fort Indiantown Gap Training Center, Pa.
            These awards recognize outstanding achievement in environmental management by the DoD components, at both domestic and overseas bases, to sustain military readiness, training and operational capabilities.
            The ceremony honoring the winners is scheduled for Wednesday, June 4, 2008, at 3 p.m. EDT, in the Pentagon Center Courtyard.  John J. Young Jr., undersecretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics, will officiate.
            The event is open for media coverage. Journalists without a Pentagon building pass will be picked up at the North Parking entrance only. Plan to arrive no later than 45 minutes prior to the event, have proof of affiliation and two forms of photo identification. Please call (703) 697-5131 for escort into the building.
            More information on the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards Program can be found at https://www.denix.osd.mil/portal/page/portal/denix/environment/awards .

Additional Links

Stay Connected