United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 696-10
August 04, 2010

2010 Department of Defense Maintenance Awards Winners Announced

                The Department of Defense (DoD) announced today the 2010 winners of the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards for depot and field-level units. These awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding achievements in weapon system and military equipment maintenance.

                The 2010 Robert T. Mason Depot Maintenance Excellence Award recipient is the Navy’s Emergent Repair Program at Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility.  The program provided extraordinary support to combat forces by meeting or exceeding operational force requirements in every measurable category.  Through innovative solutions, their diverse team was able to repair numerous surface ships and submarines in a very short period of time.

                The depot-level award is named in recognition of Robert T. Mason, a former assistant deputy under secretary of defense for maintenance policy, programs, and resources.  Mason served as the champion of organic depot maintenance for three decades and was instrumental in transforming DoD organic depot-level operations.

                A total of six field-level awards are presented in three categories - large, medium, and small.  The recipients of this year’s Secretary of Defense Field-level Maintenance Awards in the large category are the Army’s Bravo Company, 615th Aviation Support Battalion, Fort Hood, Texas, and the Navy’s USS Dwight D. Eisenhower home ported in Norfolk, Va.  Winners in the medium category are the Navy’s Fleet Readiness Center Northwest, Naval Air Station Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor, Wash., and the Marine Corp’s Marine Aviation Logistics Squadron 40, Marine Corps Air Station, Cherry Point, N.C.  Small category winners are the Army’s Bravo Company, 307th Brigade Support Battalion, Al Asad, Iraq, and the Air Force’s 3rd Component Maintenance Squadron, Elmendorf Air Force Base, Alaska.

                The awards will be presented to the winners at the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards banquet on Nov. 17, 2010, during the 2010 DoD Maintenance Symposium and Exhibition at the Tampa convention center in Tampa, Fla.  Additional information regarding the 2010 DoD Maintenance Symposium and Exhibition can be found at www.sae.org/dod.

Additional Links

Stay Connected