United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 231-11
March 22, 2011

Standardization Program Announces Winners for Annual Achievement Awards

            The Department of Defense today announced two individuals and five teams have won awards from the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO) for outstanding contributions during the last fiscal year.  The awards were presented this month during a ceremony at the Pentagon, Hall of Heroes.

            Since 1987, DSPO has recognized individuals and organizations that have effected significant improvements in quality, reliability, readiness, cost reduction, and interoperability through standardization.  The DSP mission is to identify, influence, develop, manage, and provide access to standardization processes, products, and services for warfighters and the acquisition, logistics, and systems engineering communities.  In addition, the program promotes interoperability and assists in reducing total ownership cost and sustaining readiness.

            The following are the Defense Standardization Program award recipients for fiscal 2010:


            Larry Crane, U.S. Air Force, 520th Software Maintenance Squadron, D Flight, Common Air Craft Portable Reprogramming Equipment (CAPRE) Program, developed the software and firmware needed for transferring mission-critical and other data to aircraft avionics systems.

            Beverly Wilson, Defense Logistics Agency (DLA), Land and Maritime, developed and implemented process improvements to identify and pursue part standardization opportunities by analyzing weapons systems provisioning data to identify parts not covered by standardization documents, and where appropriate recommend actions be taken to cover these documents.


            An Army team from the Army Materiel Command (AMC) successfully crafted a business case for implementing a single contract -- rather than 35 separate contracts -- for the procurement of industry standards and specifications.  Members of that team include:  Tim Edwards, Gloria Miller, Paul Fritts, Barbara Bishop, and Cynthia Lee.

            An Army team with representatives from four organizations, developed a test method, and the accompanying military standard, for measuring the resistance of materials used on the leading edge of helicopter rotor blades to protect them from particle or sand erosion.  Members of that team include:  Richard Squillacioti, Marc Pepi, Lynne Pfledderer, David Stone, and Andrew Phelps.

            An Army Armament Research, Development, and Engineering Center  (ARDEC)-led multi-service team supported the development and approval of a Joint Modular Intermodal Container (JMIC) standard that establishes general design guidelines and associated tests for JMICs.  Members of that team include:  Doug Chesnulovitch, Roy Smith, Jay Abernathy, John Weed, Gary Adams.

            A Navy-led team developed a Joint Counter Radio-Controlled Improvised Explosive Device (IED) Electronic Warfare System (JCREW) that will defeat evolving RC-IEDs globally, with less interference with friendly systems and significantly reduced operating costs.  Members of that team include:  Mike Craft, Keith Plumadore, Bruce Strackbein, Adam Webb, and Jim Ryan.

            A team from the Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Troop Support developed a process to standardize and streamline subsistence line items of supply to meet criteria and requirements of the upcoming commercial off the shelf, Common Food Management System (CFMS). The team standardized the DLA catalog which required reviewing 110,000 food items and identified more than 54,500 items to be archived or canceled due to obsolescence or duplications.  Members of that team include:  Catherine Capriotti, Carolyn Dempsey, John Robinson, Scott Koch, Jeffrey Nienstedt, and Carol Willey. 

Additional Links

Stay Connected