United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 619-97
November 17, 1997


Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Technology Jacques S. Gansler today announced the winners of the 1997 Nunn-Perry Awards. The Nunn-Perry award was established in 1995 to recognize outstanding program performance of Mentor-Protg teams formed under the auspices of the Department of Defense Pilot Mentor-Protg Program. It was named in honor of former Senator Sam Nunn for his vision and insight in sponsoring legislation, which created the program, and in honor former Secretary of Defense William Perry for his commitment to the implementation of the program.

Presentation of the biennial Nunn-Perry awards will be held Wednesday, Nov. 19, at 9 a.m. (EST) during the DoD Mentor-Protg Conference at the Radisson Plaza Hotel Mark Center, Alexandria, Va. The following DoD Mentor-Protg teams will receive awards:

  • Bell Helicopter Textron Inc., Fort Worth, Texas and

Precise Hydraulics & Machining Center Inc., Lufkin, Texas

  • Earth Tech Inc., Alexandria, Va. and

T N & Associates Inc., Milwaukee, Wis.

  • Hughes Aircraft Co., Fullerton, Calif. and

Kuchera Defense Systems, Windber, Pa.

  • Hughes Missile Systems Co., Tucson, Ariz. and

SUMMA Technology Inc., Huntsville, Ala.

  • Law Engineering and Environmental Services Inc., Kennesaw, Ga. and

Omega Environmental Services Inc., Tucker, Ga.

  • Motorola Space and Systems Technology Group, Scottsdale, Ariz. and

Fuentez Systems Concepts Inc., North Charleston, S.C.

  • Northrop Grumman MASD, El Segundo, Calif. and

SYMVIONICS Inc., Pasadena, Calif.

Science Applications International Corp., Oak Ridge, Tenn. and Vista Technologies Inc., Huntsville, Ala.

  • TRW Space & Electronics Group, Redondo Beach, Calif. and

Frontier Electronic Systems Corp., Stillwater, Okla.

Additional Links

Stay Connected