United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 687-97
December 18, 1997


In response to queries for more information about committee members and to correct inaccuracies in a June press release, the following list is provided.

Committee members are:

The Honorable Nancy Kassebaum Baker, Chair, former U.S. Senator

Retired Navy Vice Adm. Richard Allen, former Commander, Naval Air Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet

Mr. John Dancy, former broadcast journalist with NBC News

Retired Army Lt. Gen. Robert H. Forman, former Deputy Commanding General, U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command

Retired Marine Corps Maj. Gen. Donald R. Gardner, former Commander of III Marine Expeditionary Force, Japan

Retired Air Force Maj. Gen. Marcelite J. Harris, former Director of Maintenance, Headquarters, U.S. Air Force

The Honorable Deval L. Patrick, partner, law firm of Day, Berry & Howard and former Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights

Dr. Condoleezza Rice, Provost, Stanford University

Retired Navy Master Chief Petty Officer Ginger Lee Simpson, former Director, U.S. Navy Senior Enlisted Academy

Dr. Carolyn Ellis Staton, Associate Provost, University of Mississippi and former Vice Chair of the Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services (DACOWITS)

Dr. Marilyn V. Yarbrough, Professor, School of Law, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The executive director of the committee is the Honorable Lori Esposito Murray, former Special Advisor to the President on the Chemical Weapons Convention.

Additional Links

Stay Connected