United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 369-99
August 06, 1999


Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. Henry H. Shelton, U.S. Army, will host a ceremony on Monday, Aug. 9, 1999, commemorating the 50th anniversary of the formal establishment of the position of chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The event will be held at Summerall Field, Fort Myer, Va, at 10:30 a.m. EDT.

The ceremony will include: a 21-gun salute, inspection of the troops, honors to the nation, a musical salute and narration honoring the former chairmen of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Shelton, Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen, and President William J. Clinton will make remarks. The ceremony will conclude with a march in review and a final musical salute.

From its creation and the designation of Army Gen. Omar N. Bradley as the first chairman on Aug. 16, 1949, through the appointment of Shelton, on Oct. 1, 1997, 14 officers have served as chairman. A listing of the men who have held the position is provided.

For further information on the chairmen of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, contact Carolyn Piper, Joint Chiefs of Staff Public Affairs, at (703) 697-4272. Press desiring to cover the ceremony should contact Military District of Washington Public Affairs at (202) 685-4645.


General of the Army Omar N. Bradley, U.S. Army, 16 August 1949 - 15 August 1953

Adm. Arthur W. Radford, U.S. Navy, 15 August 1953 - 15 August 1957

Gen. Nathan F. Twining, U.S. Air Force, 15 August 1957 - 30 September 1960

Gen. Lyman L. Lemnitzer, U.S. Army, 1 October 1960 - 30 September 1962

Gen. Maxwell D. Taylor, U.S. Army, 1 October 1962 - 1 July 1964

Gen. Earle G. Wheeler, U.S. Army, 3 July 1964 - 2 July 1970

Adm. Thomas H. Moorer, U.S. Navy, 2 July 1970 - 1 July 1974

Gen. George S. Brown, U.S. Air Force, 1 July 1974 - 20 June 1978

Gen. David C. Jones, U.S. Air Force, 21 June 1978 - 18 June 1982

Gen. John W. Vessey Jr., U. S. Army, 18 June 1982 - 30 September 1985

Adm. William J. Crowe Jr., U.S. Navy, 1 October 1985 - 30 September 1989

Gen. Colin L. Powell, U.S. Army, 1 October 1989 - 30 September 1993

Gen. John M. Shalikashvili, U.S. Army, 25 October 1993 - 30 September 1997

Gen. Henry H. Shelton, U.S. Army, 1 October 1997 - Present

Additional Links

Stay Connected