United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 405-00
July 13, 2000


The legislatively-mandated Commission to Assess United States National Security Space Management and Organization held its initial organizational meeting at the Pentagon on July 11. Chaired by former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld, the commission has been tasked by the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2000 to investigate major changes in the management and organization of national security space assets.

The commission consists of 13 distinguished private citizens. In addition to Rumsfeld, members are:

Duane P. Andrews, former assistant secretary of Defense for Command, Control, Communications and Intelligence;

Robert V. Davis, former deputy undersecretary of Defense for Space;

Howell M. Estes III, retired Air Force general and former commander of U.S. Space Command;

Ronald R. Fogleman, retired Air Force general and former Air Force Chief of Staff;

Jay M. Garner; retired U.S. Army general;

William R. Graham, former deputy administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration;

Charles A. Horner, retired Air Force general and former commander of U.S. Space Command;

David E. Jeremiah, retired Navy admiral and former vice chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff;

Thomas A. Moorman, retired general and former vice chief of staff of the U.S. Air Force;

Douglas H. Necessary, former U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Armed Services professional staff member;

Glenn K. Otis, retired U.S. Army general; and

Malcolm S. Wallop, former U.S. senator from Wyoming.

The commission's final report is due to the Congress and the secretary of Defense in January 2001.

Additional Links

Stay Connected