United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 602-94
October 26, 1994


Director of the Department of Defense's Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA) Gary Denman yesterday announced the winners of the 1994 ARPA Director's Awards. These awards, which have been presented since 1985, are designed to reward and encourage excellence among scientists and engineers working with and for ARPA.

Norman Ortwein, of the Research, Development, Test and Evaluation Division of the Naval Command Control and Ocean Surveillance Center, San Diego, Calif., received the Director's Award for Sustained Excellence by a Government Agent in recognition of his continuous performance well above standards. Ortwein's exceptional leadership and management skills, and his positive "can do" attitude effectively helped ARPA program managers to quickly begin and efficiently manage the Micro-Global Positioning Satellite program, the High-Speed A/D Converter Program and the ULTRA Electronics Program. Denman noted, "Mr. Ortwein is an effective agent in discharging his responsibilities to the government and the U.S. taxpayer. His contracting experience enabled him to negotiate significant cost savings in contracts for these key ARPA efforts."

Denman recognized Barry Gilbert and the High-Speed Signal Processing Group of the Mayo Foundation, Rochester, Minn., with the Director's Award for Sustained Excellence by a Contractor. He noted that the team's sustained technical support of advanced technology development was above the high standards expected by ARPA, and resulted in key technical accomplishments. The performance of Gilbert and his team permitted rare successes in important microelectronics and electronics packaging programs at ARPA.

Three Director's Awards for Significant Technical Achievement were awarded.

The first, to Lambertus Hesselink of Stanford University's Center for Nonlinear Optical Materials, was given in recognition of his demonstration of the first fully automated digital holographic data storage system. Hesselink managed to overcome the roadblocks that in the past have prevented previous researchers from making a working holographic data storage system. This type of storage system is characterized by large capacities, short access times, and large transfer rates. Hesselink's work was a key university research contribution to an important application. His use of digital signal processing was the key to his success.

The Multimode Processing Array Project Team of Hughes Space and Communications Co., El Segundo, Calif., also received the Director's Award for Significant Technical Achievement, in recognition of their development of a 20 Gigahertz digital beamforming phased-array antenna module that provides the basis for a lightweight downlink transmit antenna for Milstar-class satellites. The team's dedication, and the willingness of Hughes to cost-share the development of this important technology, was instrumental in the successful demonstration of the antenna module in June 1994. Their single module meets all the downlink requirements of the 13 antennas used on today's Milstar satellite, and will be able to reduce the size, weight and volume of future satellites.

Denman also awarded the X-31 Enhanced Maneuverability Team of Rockwell International and Deutsche Aerospace his Director's Award for Significant Technical Achievement in recognition of the team's many demonstrated achievements and aerospace "firsts." Denman mentioned John Perry of Rockwell and Peter Huber of Deutsche Aerospace as company program managers. The team demonstrated: significant agility at extremely high angles of attack; agile and carefree handling within the full post-stall flight regime; the significant combat value of these advanced technologies during engagements with a modern front-line fighter aircraft; and, the effectiveness of thrust vectoring for stability and control at supersonic speed.

Denman also noted the achievements of two key ARPA program managers, presenting Colonel Robert Reddy, USA, and Kaigham J. Gabriel with Director's Awards for Special Achievement.

Reddy received the award for Outstanding Accomplishment in the Systems Arena in recognition of his management of the Advanced Distributed Simulation Program. This program is the largest and fastest growing simulation technology development effort Defense-wide. His unique ability to harness future technology to meet real-world Defense requirements has been key to the program's successes. Denman indicated, "Bob Reddy's efforts will reach fruition next month, with the Synthetic Theater of War-Europe, a key part of Exercise Atlantic Resolve 94. This will be the largest, single, distributed simulation exercise ever conducted, and will involve all three Services operating from 16 geographically distributed sites worldwide."

Gabriel's award was for Significant Technology Innovation (or Scientific Finding) in recognition of his efforts with the Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) program. Reddy's exceptional management and technical knowledge moved the program from a modest start to a nearly $30-million, 30-project effort. Denman noted, "Ken Gabriel has taken ARPA's MEMS program from a laboratory technology to a core manufacturing capability for the next decade, and he did this in just two years. He has also served as an excellent spokesman for MEMS technology at workshops and conferences."

The awards were presented during ARPA's Seventeenth Systems and Technology Symposium in San Francisco.

Additional Links

Stay Connected