United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 377-01
August 15, 2001


The Department of Defense notified Congress today that Weapons of Mass Destruction Civil Support Teams (WMD-CST) from the Massachusetts, Missouri and Texas National Guard are now certified. These teams are fully ready to assist civil authorities respond to a domestic weapon of mass destruction incident, and possess the requisite skills, training and equipment to be proficient in all mission requirements.

They are the 1st WMD-CST, Natick, Mass., 7th WMD-CST, Fort Leonard Wood, Mo., and the 6th WMD-CST, Austin, Texas.

Congress has authorized 32 WMD-CSTs. The three teams certified today are among the first 10 teams authorized in the National Defense Appropriations Act for fiscal 1999. Seventeen additional teams were authorized in fiscal 2000; five more teams were authorized in fiscal 2001.

Last month the department certified the 8th WMD-CST, Aurora, Colo.; the 2nd WMD-CST, Scotia, N.Y.; and the 10th WMD-CST, Tacoma, Wash.

Additional Links

Stay Connected