United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 673-03
September 11, 2003

2003 Modeling and Simulation Award Winners Announced

The Department of Defense today announced the recipients of the 2002 Defense Modeling and Simulation (M&S) Awards.  Each year, the DoD M&S Awards Program recognizes units, organizational elements and individuals (civilian employees and active duty service members) of the DoD components for excellence, innovation and achievement in advancement of  "state of the art" M&S.  Recognition is also given to contribution towards interoperability and reuse in support of DoD M&S objectives.


The awards program is sponsored by the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics.  This year’s awards ceremony will be held at the Pentagon, Sept. 29, 2003.  Awards will be presented by Dr. Ronald Sega, director of defense research and engineering and chair of the DoD Executive Council for Modeling and Simulation.


The recipients of this year's DoD M&S Awards are as follows:


Acquisition category:  The Missile Defense Agency, Washington, D.C., for its "Enterprise Strategy for Modeling and Simulation."


Analysis category:  The Threat Signal Processor-in-the-Loop (T-SPIL) Team, Naval Air Warfare Weapons Division, Naval Air Systems Command, China Lake, Calif.


Training category:  The Training Systems Technology Team, Warfighter Training Research Divsion, Air Force Research Laboratory, Mesa, Ariz.


Cross-function category:  Dr. Gene E. Layman, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C.


Additional information regarding the M&S Awards Program can be found at https://www.dmso.mil/public/community/awards/ or contact the Defense Modeling and Simulation Office at (703) 824-3437 or pao@dmso.mil.

Additional Links

Stay Connected