United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 479-95
August 31, 1995

1995 Antiterrorism Recognition Program Award Recipients Named

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations and Low IntensityConflict H. Allen Holmes presented the annual Antiterrorism Recognition ProgramAwards at a banquet in the Marriott Hotel, Newport, Rhode Island, 30 Aug.

The Antiterrorism Recognition Program was established by the ASD SOLIC in 1993to recognize those people who work quietly behind the scenes to protect DoDpersonnel and installations, sensitize U.S. military and their families to thenature and dangers of terrorism and deter and prevent terrorist acts.Antiterrorism Recognitions are awarded each fiscal year.

Reflecting the four categories of the AT Recognition Program, the winners andhonorable mentions are:

1. Best Antiterrorism Program

Component Major Command

Winner: Naval Sea Systems Command, Arlington, Va.

Comparable Level Entry

Winner: U.S. Air Force Special Investigations Academy, Andrews AirForce Base, Md.

Honorable Mention: 11th Signal Brigade, U.S. Army Information SystemsCommand, Fort Huachuca, Ariz.


Winner: Pudget Sound Naval Shipyard, Naval Sea Systems Command, Bremerton,Wash.

Honorable Mention: 425th Air Base Squadron, 39th Wing, U.S. Air Forces inEurope, Izmir Air Station, Turkey

2. Best Antiterrorism Intelligence Program, Comparable Level

Winner: Defense Intelligence Agency, Washington DC

Honorable Mention: Griffiss Air Force Base, NY, U.S. Air Force Air CombatCommand.

3. Best Antiterrorism Program, Functional Manager:

Winner: Maj. Charles E. Woens, USMC, Office of Defense Cooperation, Greece,U.S. European Command

Honorable Mention: Staff Sgt. David A. Supinger, USA, 5th Signal Command,U.S. Army Information Systems Command, Fort Huachuca, Ariz.

4. Most Outstanding Antiterrorism Innovation or Action

Winner: Naval Criminal Investigative Service, Northeast Metropolitan FieldOffice, Earl, N.J.

1st Honorable Mention: Air Force Office of Special Investigations, Regions 2and 3, Andrews Air Force Base, Md.

2nd Honorable Mention: 48th Security Police Squadron, 48th Fighter Wing, U.S.Air Force in Europe, RAF Lakenheath, UK.

Holmes also awarded an antiterrorism lifetime achievement award to Don Vought,U.S. Army, for his pioneering efforts in the antiterrorism field from June 1984until Vought's retirement in March 1995.

Additional Links

Stay Connected