United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 1188-04
November 19, 2004

DoD Distinguished Civilian Service Awards Presented

Secretary of Defense Donald H. Rumsfeld presented the departments highest civilian service award to six career employees at a ceremony held today at the Pentagon. The 49th annual presentation of the Department of Defense Distinguished Civilian Service Awards were made to the following:

Frank J. Anderson, president, Defense Acquisition University

Andrew Hoehn, deputy assistant secretary of defense for strategy

Evelyn R. Klemstine, program director, international programs division, Office of the Inspector General

Margaret Myers, principal director, Office of the Deputy Chief of Information, Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Networks and Information Integration

Michael A. Parker, director, Army Chemical Materials Agency

Charles M. Smith, chief, field support contracting, Army Field Support Command

The DoD Distinguished Civilian Service Award has no monetary attachment. It recognizes career employees at all levels for their exceptional achievement and honors performance characterized by extraordinary, notable or prestigious contributions that impact the department as a whole.

Additional Links

Stay Connected