United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 1257-05
December 06, 2005

DoD Hosts Annual Disability Awards Ceremony and Forum

The 25th Department of Defense Disability Awards ceremony and 18th DoD Disability Forum was hosted today by Dr. David S. C. Chu, the under secretary of defense for personnel and readiness, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Bethesda, Md. This annual event provides an overview of DoD disability policy and initiatives, recognizes DoD organizations with outstanding affirmative action programs for people with disabilities, and highlights the accomplishments of DoD employees with disabilities.



The keynote speaker at the ceremony was Dr. Robert T. Frame, the assistant under secretary for health for dentistry at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Frame retired from the U.S. Army Reserve in 2004 as a colonel. In 2003, he was severely injured by hostile fire from insurgents in Baghdad, Iraq.



The following 19 DoD employees with disabilities received Secretary of Defense awards for their outstanding contributions to national security:



Mary Ann Thompson, Department of the Army

Judith S. Gallagher, Department of the Navy

John D. Hanson, Department of the Air Force

Annemarie C. Matta, Office of the Secretary of Defense/Washington Headquarters Services

Celita A. Julian, Army and Air Force Exchange Service

Ulysses Banks, Defense Commissary Agency

Kaisa Cerys Ballard, Defense Contract Audit Agency

David Brian Viola, Defense Contract Management Agency

William M. Chipp, Defense Finance and Accounting Service

Carol Ann Horen, Defense Information Systems Agency

Anjanette Marie Daigle, Defense Intelligence Agency

Howard Tevelson, Defense Logistics Agency

Lamoine E. Hill, Defense Security Service

John Willie Gooch Jr., Defense Threat Reduction Agency

Bradley William Staton, Department of Defense Education Activity

Rina A. D'Amore, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Melinda D. Brown, National Guard Bureau

Mary Frances Listman, National Security Agency

Eleanor A. Wills, Office of the Inspector General



In addition, three DoD components, the Department of the Army, Defense Logistics Agency and Defense Finance and Accounting Service received Secretary of Defense trophies for accomplishments in their affirmative actions programs for people with disabilities during 2005.

Additional Links

Stay Connected