United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

News Release

Press Operations Bookmark and Share

News Release


Release No: 428-96
July 15, 1996


The 1996 Department of Defense Value Engineering Achievement Awards were presented today during a Pentagon ceremony. The presentations were made by DoD's director of test, systems engineering and evaluation John A. Burt.

Value engineering is a systematic functional analysis leading to actions or recommendations to improve the value of systems, equipment, facilities, services, and supplies. Its objectives are to improve quality and to reduce cost. The awards are intended to recognize significant achievements in value engineering during the past fiscal year and to further the use of value engineering by DoD personnel and its contractors.

During the last fiscal year, 4,305 in-house value engineering proposals were accepted with a reported savings of $638 million. Another 191 contractor-initiated value engineering change proposals were accepted with an additional savings of $95 million.

The value engineering award program is a highly visible acknowledgment of exemplary achievements and encourages additional projects to improve in-house and contractor productivity. An award winner from each DoD component was eligible for selection in the following seven categories: (1) program management, (2) individual/team, (3) procurement/contract administration, (4) value engineering professional, (5) field command, (6) installation, and (7) contractor. Additional special awards were given to recognize innovative applications or approaches that expanded the traditional scope of value engineering use.

The 1996 Value Engineering awardees are:


Program Management Program Executive Office, Tactical

Missiles Individual/Team Ms. Jean A. Grotophorst; Army TACMS-BAT

Project Office Value Engineering Mr. Karim Abdian; U.S. Army Aviation and Professional Troop Command Procurement/Contract Ms. Robin M. Hessler, Mr. Ronald Kuschel, Administration Ms. Joyce B. King, Ms. Joan P. Sieving,

Ms. Lynne M. Ware, Ms. Judith A. Kibler;

Maintenance and Overhaul Division, U.S.

Army Aviation and Troop Command Field Command U.S. Army Industrial Operations Command Installation Anniston Army Depot Contractor Bell Helicopter, Textron, Inc. Special Value Engineering Office; U.S. Army

Missile Command


Program Management CAPT Fredrick G. Shobert Jr. and Air

Combat Electronics AN/ARC-210 Radio

Program Management Team Individual/Team Mr. Larry Rogers; Combat Systems

Engineering, AEGIS Program Office Value Engineering Mr. James Graham; Southwest Division, Professional Naval Facilities Engineering Command Procurement/Contract LCDR Edward Sheehan and Ms. Pamela Gray; Administration AN/ARC-210 Contracts Team Field Command Atlantic Division, Naval Facilities

Engineering Command Contractor Collins Avionics & Communications

Division, Rockwell International

Corporation Special F/A-18 Weapons System Support Activity,

Hughes Aircraft Company, and McDonnell

Douglas Aircraft Company


Program Management Mr. Thomas P. Hancock; Production and

Deployment Integrated Product Team,

AMRAAM Program Office Individual/Team Mr. Tara Cochran; Aerospace Guidance and

Metrology Center Procurement/Contract Ms. Kaye E. Roa; Air Mobility Command Administration Contracting Flight Special Quality Center; Aerospace Guidance and

Metrology Center


Program Management Master Chief Stan Lane, Master Chief John

Hazen, Mr. Allan Feinberg, Mr. Maris

Gultnieks, and Mr. Brian Burns; Naval Air

Systems Command and Mr. Edward King, Mr.

Mike Normoyle, Mr. Stanley Dillon, Mr.

Mark Cutler, and Mr. Robert Howland; Navy

Value Engineering Readiness Team, Defense

Construction Supply Center Individual/Team Mr. Paul Amato; Produce Business Unit,

Defense Personnel Support Center Value Engineering Mr. Richard Thomas; Defense Supply Center Professional Richmond Procurement/Contract Mr. Kenneth E. Williams and Mr. Patrick Administration Friel; Defense Contract Management

Command - Reading Field Command Defense Industrial Supply Center Contractor Sabreliner Corporation Special Mr. Joseph A. Franklin, Ms. Jean O.

Bingham, Mr. Charles W. Collins, and Mr.

Bobby L. Claiborne; Defense Supply Center



Program Management PATRIOT Project Office Individual/Team Mr. Robert B. Tarquine; PATRIOT Project

Office and Mr. A. D. Janzen; U.S. Army

Missile Command Special Theater High Altitude Area Defense

Project Management Office


Field Command Headquarters, Defense Mapping Agency


Contractor Lewis Brothers Stages, Inc.

Additional Links

Stay Connected