An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You have accessed part of a historical collection on Some of the information contained within may be outdated and links may not function. Please contact the DOD Webmaster with any questions.
Immediate Release

Department of Defense Announces U.S. Team for 2020 Invictus Games

The Department of Defense announced today the names of the 65 competitors who will compete on the U.S. team at the Invictus Games in The Hague, Netherlands, May 9-16, 2020.

More than 500 wounded, ill, and injured service members from 19 allied nations are expected to compete. Competitors will participate in nine adaptive sports: archery, athletics, indoor rowing, powerlifting, road cycling, sitting volleyball, swimming, wheelchair basketball, and wheelchair rugby.

The United Kingdom’s Prince Harry, a former captain in the British army, founded the Invictus Games in 2014. The Games are based on the United States’ concept of the Warrior Games and are designed to use the power of sport to inspire recovery, support rehabilitation, and generate a wider understanding of, and respect for, those who serve their country and their loved ones.

The following athletes were selected as primaries for the U.S. team:

  • Retired Staff Sgt. Ross Alewine, Army
  • Gunnery Sgt. John Ayo, Marine Corps
  • Cpl. Josue Barron, Marine Corps
  • Senior Airman John Berry, Air Force 
  • Private 1st Class Isaac Blunt, Marine Corps
  • Retired Capt. Tim Bomke, Army
  • Army Sgt. 1st Class Lance Borman, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Retired Senior Airman Brett Campfield, Air Force 
  • Army Specialist Steven Carmen, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Petty Officer Second Class Jai Cheon, Navy
  • Petty Officer Second Class Daniel Clarke, Navy
  • Lt. Joshua Connell, Navy
  • Petty Officer Third Class Austin Cooper, Navy
  • Petty Officer Second Class Jacob Cox, Coast Guard
  • Capt. Patrick Nugent, Marine Corps
  • Army Staff Sgt. Travis Dunn, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Retired Specialist Angela Euson, Army
  • Navy Chief Petty Officer Phillip Fong, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Petty Officer First Class Ruth Freeman, Navy
  • Retired Specialist Brent Garlic, Army
  • Senior Airman Demarcus Garrett, Air Force 
  • Seaman Gabriel George, Navy
  • Retired Tech. Sgt. Chunte Gonzalez, Air Force 
  • Staff Sgt. Beth Grauer, Marine Corps
  • Staff Sgt. Kevin Greene, Air Force 
  • Master Sgt. Kenneth Guinn, Air Force 
  • Sgt. Matthew Hargrove, Marine Corps
  • Cpl. Andrew Holliday, Marine Corps
  • Petty Officer Third Class Dakota Hollingsworth, Navy
  • Marine Corps Gunnery Sgt. Tiffany Hudgins, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Petty Officer Second Class Darius Jones, Navy
  • Retired Staff Sgt. Beth King, Army
  • Cpl. Tisha Knickerbocker, Marine Corps
  • Retired Chief Master Sgt. Garrett Kuwada, Air Force 
  • Petty Officer Second Class Joshua Laban, Navy
  • Army Staff Sgt. Fred Lewis, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Retired Major Lisa McCranie, Air Force 
  • Retired Sgt. Chris McGinnis, Army
  • Gunnery Sgt. Steven McKay, Marine Corps
  • Retired Senior Airman Rafael Morfin, Air Force 
  • Retired Capt. Kristen Morris, Air Force 
  • Army Sgt. Major David Neumer, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Sgt. Michael Nicholson, Marine Corps
  • Fireman Christoper North, Coast Guard
  • Sgt. 1st Class Earl Ohlinger, Army
  • Navy Petty Officer First Class Victoria Oldani, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Retired Sgt. 1st Class Josh Olsen, Army
  • Staff Sgt. August O’Neil, Air Force 
  • Army Sgt. 1st Class Dawn Page, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Petty Officer Second Class John Pulido, Navy
  • Staff Sgt. Paul Reifke, Army
  • Retired Master Sgt. Andres Rodriguez, Air Force 
  • Retired Staff Sgt. Joel Rodriquez, Army
  • Retired Staff Sgt. Shawn Runnells, Army
  • Cpl. Jorge Salazar, Marine Corps
  • Retired Specialist Michelle Sanchez, Army
  • Petty Officer First Class Tyson Schmidt, Navy
  • Retired Tech. Sgt. Joshua Smith, Air Force 
  • Staff Sgt. Seth Smith, Marine Corps
  • Navy Lt. Isaiah Staley, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Cpl. Kionte Storey, Marine Corps
  • Army Master Sgt. George Vera, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Army Capt. Sean Walsh, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Air Force Staff Sgt. Mario Webb, U.S. Special Operations Command
  • Retired Capt. Alex Wilson, Army

Retired Air Force Tech. Sgt. Joshua Smith, and Master Sgt. George Vera, U.S. Special Operations Command, were selected as Team U.S. co-captains.