An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You have accessed part of a historical collection on Some of the information contained within may be outdated and links may not function. Please contact the DOD Webmaster with any questions.
Immediate Release

Seven New Members Appointed to the Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services

The Department of Defense announced today the induction of seven new members to the Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services. DACOWITS provides the Secretary of Defense with advice and recommendations on matters and policies relating to the recruitment, retention, employment, integration, well-being, and treatment of women in the U.S. Armed Forces.

The committee is comprised of up to 20 members, who include prominent civilian women and men from academia, industry, public service, and other professions. Selection is on the basis of experience in the military or with women-related workforce issues. Members are selected for a 4-year term and perform a variety of duties, to include visiting military installations annually, conducting a review and evaluation of current research on military women, and developing an annual report with recommendations on these issues for the secretary of defense.

New committee appointments include:

  • Retired Maj. Gen. George A. Alexander, M.D., U.S. Army National Guard
  • Retired Vice Adm. Robin R. Braun, U.S. Navy
  • Retired Col. Many-Bears Grinder, U.S. Army National Guard
  • Retired Command Master Chief Octavia D. Harris, U.S. Navy
  • Retired Maj. Gen. Ronald L. Johnson, U.S. Army
  • Ms. Robin Kelleher
  • Retired Fleet Master Chief Susan A. Whitman, U.S. Navy

Current committee members:

  • Retired Capt. Kenneth J. Barrett, U.S. Navy
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Judith A. Fedder, U.S. Air Force
  • Ms. Therese A. Hughes
  • Retired Command Sgt. Maj. Michele S. Jones, U.S. Army
  • Retired Maj. Priscilla W. Locke, U.S. Army
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Kevin W. Mangum, U.S. Army
  • Ms. Janie L. Mines, U.S. Navy Veteran
  • Retired Fleet Master Chief JoAnn M. Ortloff, U.S. Navy
  • Retired Brig. Gen. Jarisse J. Sanborn, U.S. Air Force
  • Retired Brig. Gen. Allyson R. Solomon, U.S. Air National Guard
  • Retired Rear Adm. Cari B. Thomas, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Retired Gen. Janet C. Wolfenbarger, U.S. Air Force

To learn more about DACOWITS visit