An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You have accessed part of a historical collection on Some of the information contained within may be outdated and links may not function. Please contact the DOD Webmaster with any questions.
Immediate Release

Statement on New Appointments to the Defense Business Board

Today, Acting Secretary of Defense Chris Miller announced the appointments of Henry Dreifus, Robert McMahon, Cory Mills, Bill Bruner, Christopher Shank, Joseph Schmidt, Keary Miller, Alan Weh, Earl Matthews, Corey Lewandowski and David Bossie to the Defense Business Board (DBB). Individuals appointed to the Defense Business Board are selected for their expertise and executive management experience in the private and public sectors.  

"I’m proud to welcome each of these new members to the Defense Business Board and I look forward to their contributions to help guide the Department’s business efforts in the coming years,” said Acting Secretary Miller. “These individuals have a proven record of achievement within their respective fields and have demonstrated leadership that will serve our Department, and our nation well.” 

About the Defense Business Board

The Defense Business Board, established in 2002, provides the Secretary of Defense and Deputy Secretary of Defense along with other senior leaders within the Department of Defense with independent advice on business management issues. This private sector perspective is based on proven and effective “best business practices” from corporate America and presents new ideas to help senior leaders meet DoD management challenges.

Also today, Acting Secretary Miller thanked nine outgoing members of the Defense Business Board for their service and commitment to the Department. These members are: Michael Bayer, Arnold Punaro, Atul Vashisitha, John O'Connor, David Venlet, Paul Dolan, Scott Dorn, David Walker and David Van Slyke who had been serving in expired positions or whose tenures were terminated. “I want to thank each of these members for volunteering their time and talents in service to the Department of Defense and in turn, our country,” Said Acting Secretary Miller.

[Eds. Note: The above statement has been edited to more accurately reflect the characterization of the end of service of outgoing members of the Board.]