An official website of the United States Government 
Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

.gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You have accessed part of a historical collection on Some of the information contained within may be outdated and links may not function. Please contact the DOD Webmaster with any questions.
Immediate Release

DOD Announces Winners of the Fiscal Year 2020 Nunn-Perry Award, Recognizing Excellence in the DOD Mentor Protégé Program

The Department of Defense (DOD) announced the fiscal year 2020 Nunn-Perry Awards winners today, recognizing excellence in the DOD Mentor Protégé Program.

DOD Mentor-Protégé Program participants deliver capabilities across major defense programs in support of the warfighter. Recipients of the Nunn-Perry Award excel in protégé growth and development.

“On behalf of the Office of Small Business Programs, I offer my sincerest congratulations to the winners of this year’s award,” said Ms. Kasey Diaz, director of the Mentor-Protégé Program within the Office of Small Business Programs. “The program remains focused on training, educating, and preparing small businesses to become successful participants in the defense industrial base. Our small business partners are resilient, innovative suppliers and form the backbone of the American economy. We look forward to seeing what this year’s Nunn-Perry Award winners accomplish in the future.”

The program will celebrate the accomplishments of the winners, listed below, at a virtual award ceremony this summer.

  • Air Force: Tec-Masters; Linc Research; Oakwood University; University of Alabama Huntsville
  • Air Force: Montana State University-MilTech; Conductive Group; Oregon Manufacturing Extension Partnership
  • Army: SAIC; IronArch Technology; North Carolina A&T
  • National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA): Booz Allen Hamilton; Masego; Fayetteville State University
  • Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA): Jacobs Technology; Aerodyne Industries
  • DCMA: General Dynamics Mission Systems; Carroll Communications

The DOD Mentor Protégé Program was established in 1990 in response to concerns raised by DOD prime contractors regarding their inability to meet Small Disadvantaged Business (SDB) subcontracting goals.

The award is named for the contributions of Senator Sam Nunn and former Secretary of Defense William Perry, who both played critical roles in the implementation of the DOD Mentor Protégé Program.

The program has since expanded, providing developmental assistance to women-owned small businesses, service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses and others.

More information on the DOD Mentor Protégé Program can be found online at